Notices

New sobriety and doubt

Old 05-28-2014, 09:47 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New sobriety and doubt

Hello all, this is my first time posting. A little background- started drinking in my early 20's, soon got out of control so i made a choice to stop just thinking I was an alcohlic. Then the pills came and I was addicted pretty hardcore for the last year and got up to using around 100 mg oxy or 30 mg methadone a day. So i now realize that i am in fact an addict.
I am 5 days clean now and am feeling physically better and this is when the doubt starts creeping in. I try not to think in terms of wow i've got to remain my entire life sober as that obvously makes me panic. I started all of this mess as a way of self medicating myseld due to anxiety. Suffered horrible panic attacks when younger.
I guess i'm just really afraid of developing another habit as i did when i quit drinking. I also have a hard time getting my head around the whole NA and AA meetings of the higher power.. i'm not spiritual or religious and that makes it difficult. but I'm also worried that I wont be able to make it on my own. I do have some supportive friends and a mother who i can always count on but is that enough? I'm making plans to see an addiction therapist in the near future to give me a fighting chance at this thing..OK my main question in this rant is how many people have obtained and continued in long term sobriety without attending AA or NA?
Old 05-28-2014, 10:15 PM
  # 2 (permalink)