SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Red Bull Energy Drinks - Ok or not? (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/333138-red-bull-energy-drinks-ok-not.html)

JOY1975 05-25-2014 05:59 AM

Red Bull Energy Drinks - Ok or not?

Hi my name is Joy and I'm new to Sober Recovery. I have been in a rehab centre for a 2 months and now home for nearly 2 months, but I am drinking quite a lot of redbull. At the rehab centre I went to energy drinks were a big no no and I was wondering what other peoples opinions and experiences were regarding this?

Oldselfagain 05-25-2014 06:01 AM

Hi Joy :) I see no issue with them unless your DOC was a vodka redbull or any other drinks with the energy drink as your mixer, then that could be a trigger.

JOY1975 05-25-2014 06:28 AM

No i've always drunk redbull as a substitute really. Its definately not a trigger.

Croissant 05-25-2014 06:41 AM

Hi Joy. Did they state why they are a no no at the rehab centre?

I found stimulants, such as coffee were all wrong for me when I got sober. I finally figured out the "down" from the coffee buzz must have been mimicking a hangover in my system, because I'd get huge alcohol urges.

I'm ok with coffee now in small doses. But early recovery, when my body was healing, no.

pdoc 05-25-2014 06:43 AM

Just watch that your not becoming addicted to sugar, I know a couple of people who did after giving up booze and drugs. They say giving up sugar is/was just as hard for them.

Skotyb 05-25-2014 06:46 AM

Ahhhh red bull
I used to drink as my wake up juice for those hung over
Work days ... ( every work day) :) the fizzyness ( great word)
And I liked the taste... I'd pound a couple before lunch rush
It was free for me!!! I did a google search on it one day