Notices

Newbie here, and seeking the pro's!

Old 05-21-2014, 07:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie here, and seeking the pro's!

Hi Everyone!

I must start with mentioning I greatly appreciate everyone's sincere kindness on this forum.

To start off with, I began drinking 4 years ago (when I was 19, which scares me as I thought it was 3 years) - I left home at 18 out of arrogance to live on my own and begin my life. I studied at University for a year but then went to full time work. I climbed very fast and decided to take to drinking as a way to express myself at home and decipher the days. Here I am 4 years later, I haven't really had a sober night in 2 years, and although only admitting my problem recently - I have lied about my 'recovery' to even my family and friends.

I am so lost on finding motivation to quit, it's not only a habbit but again a way to just cope with my long hours and huge stress. The hardest part is I am lying to my loved ones, which honestly affects me most. But it just isn't enough reason for me to quit, which is just so entirely selfish.

I definitely deserve a slap across the head for treating my loved ones like this, but I am sincerely asking for genuine reasons for motivation to quit. I feel like life is just going so well that I don't see any downside (regardless of finances).

Any reply - really, thankyou for your time. It's amazing people would reach out in their own kindness.
Old 05-21-2014, 07:32 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Kaskade - I'm new here too and I don't have any suggestions as of yet, but just wanted to say hi. And hoping that by joining this thread, I can gain some insight from others' thoughts.
Old 05-21-2014, 07:37 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hey, I'm new here too. Today is day 4 for me of sobriety. I'm quitting because I say and do things while drinking that I feel ashamed of later... And for my health. I don't want to age young or kill myself by drinking. I want to be healthy.
Old 05-21-2014, 07:42 AM
  # 4 (permalink)