Notices

Newbie here again

Old 05-21-2014, 04:08 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie here again

Hi Everyone,
I've posted on this site about 3 months ago when I realized that I really need to seek some help for my behaviour. I tried to get sober a couple of times, and made it to about 10 days each time. Was very proud of myself, and then had one or two nights of very moderate drinking (1 -3 drinks over course of dinner and night out) but then of course went into a downward spiral of binge drinking. Just today I'm coming off of essentially a 5 day bender, which is usually the point at which I actually have a deadline that I blew off for days that is coming due.
Today I woke up in a cold sweat and am really struggling to get some work done that I cannot put off any longer (was actually due yesterday).
Until now, I really wasn't even sure if I wanted to completely quit drinking as I told myself that I like it and I can just keep it under control. But I really don't think that is possible for me and I have a lot to lose if I continue on this path.

I really don't know what I'm asking here, but just wanted to come back to this site to get some ideas and support. I'm actually going to look into some detox programs or something, but I don't know how that would work with work (what do you tell work? That you're going on a vacation). So maybe some sort of outpatient program would work for me. I just don't know and I know I can continue like this.
Old 05-21-2014, 04:27 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

welcome back lola, you can do this
Old 05-21-2014, 04:50 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome back. It is always hard to ask for help but it is the best gift you can give yourself. When I quit I called my supervisor on a Sunday while intoxicated and flat out told her that I was an alcoholic and needed treatment. I did get a month off and I did follow through. I did detox followed by 16 days of inpatient treatment followed by ninety AA meetings in ninety days.