Notices

i'm so lost

Old 07-06-2004, 01:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

Exclamation i'm so lost

Excuse me!! I'm totally lost. I'm really new to this--the admitting i have a problem deal AND the online chat room/whatever this thing is. Can somebody please help? I'm so lost! There are a million and a half websites claiming to have lists of AA meetings, all of which are so vague, I would need a psychic to find one nearby.
Sorry if it sounds like i'm rambling. I honestly just wanna get sober, and this is all extremely frustrating.
And, by the way, how does one know when to go to a rehab center and when to go to AA? The reason I ask is because I've been trying to quit drinking on my own for the past few days, and I can't sleep--this is certainly more difficult than I would have EVER imagined.
Thanks!
Old 07-06-2004, 01:26 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm not the best person to answer your questions, but rest assured there will be someone along soon who can do just that.

Welcome to SR - you've taken a very important step in coming here and reaching out. The guys here are fantastic and there is a wealth of information on these boards.

Hang in there - you can do it.
Old 07-06-2004, 01:45 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Paused

Thanks, Minnie.
By the way, was anybody else as scared as I am in the beginning of their sobriety?
I've been researching all of my symptoms (hand tremors, headaches, sweats, and now I swear I'm nocturnal) and it seems i have a problem that is 1,000 times worse than I knew. Very scary, so I definitely need some support. I'm so glad I found you guys!
Old 07-06-2004, 02:22 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi Beerme, Welcome to the club. I'm Deg, and I'm an alcoholic too. I can very clearly remember (and never want to forget either) lying awake in bed as you describe sweating and feeling my heart beating irregularly and wondering if I did manage to sleep - wether I'd wake up, or even if I'd mind if I didn't....