Notices

No better time than now...

Old 05-19-2014, 01:06 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

No better time than now...

I feel like I know several of you already, I've been reading your posts for over a year. I'm finally ready to start being an active member of this forum, and I can definitely use the support. I'm 33 years old, married, with two small sons ages 1 and 4. I've been drinking on and off since I was around 17 years old. I loved getting drunk from day one.. having just a few was never enough. I drank to get drunk. I blacked out for the first time when I was 20 years old and then I started blacking out regularly, even when I felt like I didn't have "that much" to drink. When I was in my 20’s I was a weekend binge drinker, usually only getting drunk on Friday and Saturday nights when I went out with my friends. I gradually started drinking during the week.. just a night here and there. And of course that escalated to where I was getting drunk every other night. I’d get wasted, be hungover and miserable the next day so I wouldn’t drink, and then feel great on that third day and reward myself with “just one or two glasses of wine” and start the cycle all over. I am tired of being hungover and anxious with my children, they deserve so much better. My husband drinks, too. He’s a heavy drinker but he and I are very different.. he can have a few and stop. He likes getting a buzz and if the booze is gone then he’s okay with it. I, on the other hand, would walk 5 miles in a blizzard to get more wine if I ran out and wasn’t quite drunk enough. I don’t have the “I’m drunk, maybe I should stop drinking” gene. I will drink until I pass out almost every single time. If I drink and I’m not hung over the next day well then I really didn’t quite get the urge out of my system, so I’ll drink that night, too. I only ever want to quit when I’ve had a really heavy night of drinking that results in a horrible hangover. That’s usually when I say NO MORE.