Notices

I'm new to this

Old 07-05-2004, 04:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

I'm new to this

hi, I am married to an alcoholic. I made it through the 4th of July with him going on another 3 day drunk. My kids were scared and disappointed and so was I. Where can I go for some guidance other than alanon, which just didn't seem to be right for me?
Old 07-05-2004, 05:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Don't get undies in a bunch

What is it that didn't seem right?
Do some reading here and maybe see the depth of what Al Anon may have that you may not have seen at a meeting.
Professional counseling, church group, Al Anon, friends with knowledge, the boards here. There are many places to seek answers. Ask some questions I am sure you will find many here willing to share answers.
Old 07-05-2004, 08:06 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hey Lisa... : )

Welcome to SR...

So.. you didn't get off on the Alanon thing eh? ; ) But your still wondering what you can do to make things right?? ; )

Unfortunately.. there is no fixing an alcoholic... or a druggie... or anyone for that matter who is caught up in the disease of addiction unless THEY choose to do something about it.

That's what Alanon is about for me. It taught me how to detach with love from my alcoholic father who I once feared and dispised... and I learned how to separate the disease from the person.

Addiction and codependency go hand in hand... and the co-dependent is half of the problem... although I'm sure you don't want to hear that.

So.. what it boils down to... is that the only person you can fix is yourself... and to hopefully show your children there is another way to make it in this life....

If you just can't get into the Alanon thing... then try reading Codependent No More or other recovery books about addicted spouses.

Hopefully.. your alkie hubbie will see you and your children moving on with a good life.. and he'll want to join you of his own free will.

I pray to the ALL to show you the way to peace ...