Notices

My first day

Old 05-18-2014, 02:35 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My first day

Though it became apparent to me last week that my drinking had crossed the "invisible line" as i saw a recovery counselor, tonight I rationalized a glass of wine (my drink of choice) as a "closing" to my best friend. Now feeling terribly guilty after a week of abstinence, like I opened the door again. This coincided with a party with my friends who repeatedly questioned my preference for diet coke over margaritas. What do i tell them?

I am new to this and was what outsiders consider to be "highly functional" before I finally admitted to myself that i am an alcoholic. I haven't had the opportunity (yet) to hit bottom, though I see its presence looming.

I am skeptical about attending AA but know I would benefit from some support.

Can anyone provide help? I could keep drinking for years without anyone noticing but I don't want to do so, for my sake, and for my loving family.
Old 05-18-2014, 02:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Learning to LIve

Congratulations on your decison cactus ... welcome to SR ... you will find a lot of support here.
Old 05-18-2014, 02:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you, LSC1.
It means so much to me to be welcomed into sobriety.
Old 05-18-2014, 02:49 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
12 Step Recovered Alcoholic

Alcohol was my drink of no choice. I was a dysfunctional alcoholic, for want of a better term,, what the medical term would call severe alcohol use disorder.

Here the experts suggest that for milder cases of alcoholic use disorder, a new generation of knowledgeable doctors are there to help, along with therapists and counsellors. For the severe cases like mine, the suggest AA as a "fantastic" organisation.

In AA speak.. Whether or not you can quit on a non spiritual basis will depend on the extent to which you have already lost the power to chose whether you will drink or not.