Notices

Hey there

Old 04-30-2014, 10:21 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hey there

I’ve been reading this forum off and on for a long time, and I finally took the plunge to join. I’ve been drinking on the heavy side of social for about 23 years. My parents are both active alcoholics. I like to drink and chill out, and it helps me feel more comfortable socially, cause I’m shy.

I’ve been struggling with depression/anxiety and migraines for a long time, though, and I’m on medication for both. Recently I’ve been getting horribly depressed the day after drinking—even moderate amounts—and I decided that it makes no sense to take all this medication while I continue to drink, which exacerbates all my ailments. (Duh.) So I cut way down early this month, then stopped altogether last week. And I feel good so far—happy and peaceful. A little tired.

I’m not going to any meetings right now. I did Al-Anon for a while years ago, but as a pretty shy/introverted person, I found the meetings excruciating.

My biggest issue at the moment is that I’m in a little bar band, and all of our gigs, practices, weekend BBQs, etc., revolve around drinking. I haven’t told anybody I’m not drinking yet (it’s still very new), but I did play my first gig completely sober last Friday and I liked it. I wasn't as nervous as I thought I'd be, though talking with folks was still kinda hard.

I’m worried about losing friends or not being invited to social events—that maybe I’ll discover a lot of these friends are really just drinking buddies. I don’t want to become a social pariah, but I know I have to do what’s best for me, too.

Anyway, just thought I'd say hello. Sorry if this intro is a bit long-winded.
Old 04-30-2014, 10:28 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
☀️⛳️

Originally Posted by WillaCather View Post