Notices

How to work out my 'not had a drink since' date...

Old 04-10-2014, 10:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How to work out my 'not had a drink since' date...

Going to first AA locally tonight. Deep breaths. I work as a drug and alcohol support worker.
For some stupid reason, the date is important to me. Is the date that people remember the last date they had a drink, or the first day they were alcohol free?
I don't know why my brain is fixating on this.
Old 04-10-2014, 10:18 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

mine is the first day where i did not have a drink for a full 24 hours
Old 04-10-2014, 10:20 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks josh... I just got six weeks alcohol free then lost it a week ago. I need to reel it in again now or everything will crash down. It's meant to be today, day one, but it's a struggle
Old 04-10-2014, 10:22 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Behold the power of NO

There are two schools for that one: Some people use the date they had their last drink and said enough is enough as their sobriety date others like me use the first day they were clean and sober. Whichever makes the most sense to you symbolically.
If dumping your booze and saying enough is enough at let's say 2pm was your epiphany and a major moment then use that. If your first day clean and sober is what you feel is the beginning of your sober journey then use that date
Congratulations on getting sober and taking that big first step and going to a meeting. I hope you like AA and the steps as much as I do.
Old 04-10-2014, 10:28 AM
  # 5 (permalink)