Notices

My short story

Old 04-06-2014, 04:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My short story

I have been drinking heavy for about 16 years drinking mostly the hard stuff, about 5 to 6 drinks per night with each one having two or more shots in them. I never freely admit I have a problem using the reasons that I don't drink and drive, never miss work... But inside I know I rely on the stuff each night to fight anxiety. I am healthy, work out and seem to be happy but then why do I need it. Anyways for reasons unknown I have been sober now for the last 96 hours, before this I haven't gone through one day without a drink in over a year and a half, and then tonight I stumbled on this website. Can anyone tell me their thoughts? I am thinking of having a couple, what's the harm right, but then why not see if I can get through another night.
Old 04-06-2014, 04:23 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I totally get the nightly drinking to ease the anxiety. I'm on the same boat. Let the thought of having a few tonight go away... You've been great for 96 hours. I've been for only 24 hours. I'm looking up to you. I'm drinking passion fruit juice instead. It's delicious and a natural remedy for anxiety. Let's do something else for our anxiety.
Old 04-06-2014, 04:23 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Shrvwjoe - welcome

The thing with drinking for anxiety is, over time, alcohol actually increases your anxiety.

You become dependent on those nightly drinks and anxious when, for whatever reason, they don't come.

to me thats a pretty good reason not to drink tonight.

Break the cycle - the longer you pit off doing something about this, the harder it will be

D
Old 04-06-2014, 04:32 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi Shrvwjoe,
I can only speak for me but here's what I know. Alcohol isn't going to change. It is what it is. I got to the point where I had to ask myself how's this really working for me. And I had to be honest. Not all that well.