Notices

Newbie looking for guidance

Old 04-04-2014, 07:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Talking Newbie looking for guidance

Well I have been battling with Alcohol abuse for about 15 years. I drink like 3-10 beers depending on the night. So bad I can not take care of myself/blackout/throw up and/or all of the above. Having a another child in a few weeks. I got really hammered on Weds night and threw up everywhere. Not a good role model for my first child. Been dealing with heavy stress with a child with special needs, work, and a pregnant wife. Plus we have had a ton of extra expenses with things breaking or going wrong.I work a ton and travel a lot. I think I have hit my proverbial bottom. I make excuses and mask my feelings with alcohol. I am too old for this behavior and will lose my wife, child , job and home if I do not give up this terrible habit and viscous cycle. I have a really bad anxiety disorder. Am a smoker also. I need to quite smoking also but in due time.
I am going out to play cards tomorrow. I want to continue to abstain without telling people about my problem. It is already probably evident to them I have a problem. What are some good excuses to use if you don't want to tell someone you have a problem with alcohol? Cutting calories, trying to lose wait ect..??
I would also like to seek help by a therapist to talk out my feelings. I have not been able to locate one that does therapy via phone sessions. Wondering if anyone knows a contact. I have been sober for 2 days and appreciate any thoughts, opinions and assistance any of you can provide.
Old 04-04-2014, 07:30 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

welcome letitgo,