Notices

not doing the right thing

Old 04-01-2014, 09:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

not doing the right thing

Hi,
I am new to this....Not sober, but investigating options. I want to stop drinking, but every morning I feel I can,every evening I cannot. I have history of alcoholism and it is affecting my kids...you would think that would be the catalyst, but i still can't stop. Please any unique advice outside of, "you will feel better, etc...." I cannot go to rehab, my job wont allow...
Old 04-01-2014, 09:14 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

How about AA?
Old 04-01-2014, 09:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Brooke, welcome to SR. I felt the same way for a long time before I quit drinking...every morning I said I wouldn't, but then I did. The good news is that you CAN stop. You will find a lot of support here. If you look at the threads in the newcomers forum, you will see Class of April. Posting in a class is a great way to get support and feedback on how to replace drinking with other things. I know you can do it.
Old 04-01-2014, 09:41 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
p***enger

Brooke, welcome to SR! You're in the right place to learn about quitting, to get sober, to get tons of support, and for great human warmth and wisdom.

I agree with Kadidee about joining a class. Or to start, as someone here told me once, just post post post!

As for advice, I'd say start by spending a lot of time here, soaking up advice instead of booze. See you how feel with a few days booze-free and what support options you learn about that you can try. I think there's no wrong answer to how to get straight, except "by drinking."
Old 04-01-2014, 10:30 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hey Brooke, try going to an AA meeting. Tell them what you said here. You can be discrete if you need to be.
Old 04-01-2014, 10:34 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Brooke1234- welcome

A lot of people find the monthly support thread helps...why not check it out?

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...-2014-a-3.html