Notices

Hello

Old 03-23-2014, 08:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello

Um? Hello. Not sure what to say here...

I'm a 30 year old nurse, wife, mother- respected by me peers, loved by friends and family- and most of them don't know, I'm an alcoholic.

The past two years have been rough. A rocky marriage and two small kids (2.5 and 4), and what used to be a fun social habit quickly spiral into bottles of vodka hidden around my house. At the worst of times, I drank everyday I didn't have to work (I only work twice a week) and no one even realized. It became all I thought about and all I wanted.

20 days ago I decided enough was enough. I saw an addictions counsellor for a year last year and that didn't help at all. This time, with the push and support of my BFF I'm going at it alone.

I feel amazing. On cloud nine. Each day is an accomplishment that I cherish. And each day is getting slightly less difficult.

I hope to find support here and get to know some people going through recovery. I don't think I'm the stereotypical alcoholic....but then again what do I know?

Ps - ColtyBear is a play on both my kids names. Love those two with every cell of my body. <3
Old 03-23-2014, 08:26 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Congratulations on your decision to quit. Like you, I am also a married mother of 2, and I love them all with every ounce of my being. I would take a bullet for them, but I couldnt quit drinking for them. This alcoholism is so much bigger than me. I hope that you can find the support that you need to maintain sobriety!
Old 03-23-2014, 08:28 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome, ColtyBear, to SR. This is a great place for support and understanding.

You might want to join a class; if you look under Forums you will find the Class of March 2014; I am part of the Class of February; I found being a part of a class to be so very helpful. (I am sorry that I am terrible at attaching links; I am sure a Moderator (Dee) will soon see your post and provide the link to the class).