Notices

Day 1, again.

Old 02-25-2014, 09:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 1, again.

This is my first time posting, but I really enjoyed reading the other posts and feel that maybe having some additional accountability might keep me on the straight. My boyfriend sent me the link and I didn't really think that I would gain anything, but wow, there are people who are dealing with the same issues I am (who would have thought). I have been drinking excessively for the last 3 or so years and have been with my boyfriend for almost two. Since September, I have been trying and failing to quit. I always make excuses of why it's ok this time and then it turns into a five day binge. Once the binge is over, I hate myself. I have wasted so many days of my life that I can never get back. My boyfriend pretty much gave me an ultimatum today and it should make me want to quit, right? I love him more than anything, but when I feel that I can't drink, I want to that much more. I want help so bad. I don't want to be driven by this disease, but I don't know how to get a handle on things and deal with the cravings without always giving in. I could really use some words of advice and support. I have never taken a step like this and I am hoping trying something different will be a push in the right direction.
Old 02-25-2014, 09:31 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome aNeWLeAf

I think support can really make a difference...but you need to decide if you're doing this for you, or for your bf, I think.

Support will make it easier but it's still going to have it's rough moments...you really need to want to change your life to have success at staying sober.

Having said that, I think a lot of us are not really sure about quitting when we get here. Alcohol can have a really deep hold on us - but support can help us work it all out.

Read around and post as much as you need to

D
Old 02-25-2014, 09:56 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi aNeW,
Welcome!