SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Employment (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/323990-employment.html)

Randummy 02-25-2014 02:21 AM

Employment

Hello,

I really wasn't sure where to post this so I apologise if it's not quite the right place.

At the moment I'm volunteering but I really need a paid job. I have been temping for about five years, I've got a degree and my skills are very versatile. I've spoken to an employment assistance program and they've helped me with my CV but my biggest issue is that due to temping, I haven't stayed in a job for a particularly long time. There are two permanent jobs on my CV that I stayed in for a year and three years, so that's not bad. But for the past couple of years I've gone from job to job.

My addiction has played a large part in this and I admit that I've left two jobs at the end of my contract not on the best of terms because I've been a total mess. I also had a breakdown two years ago and lost a permanent job that I was on probation for (probation for the first three months of every employee's employment, so if they weren't happy with my performance, they could just get rid of me within a week, which they did when I was signed off from work by my GP for a month and put on medication).

I'm really ashamed of myself but I know now that I can't go back and change my actions, I just have to move forward.

I don't have any references from the past year and I haven't worked for a few months.