Notices

Hello

Old 02-12-2014, 09:33 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello

This is my first time posting. I have been reading posts for a few weeks now and they have been helpful.

I have gone 22 days without alcohol, which is the longest I’ve gone without a drink in almost 10 years.

I don’t feel comfortable giving myself a label because I’m not sure about what they mean, and depending on who you talk to they mean something different.

I know I have a problem with drinking too much and too often. I also know I’m pretty good at it. I can usually get by on a massive hangover. I get my job done. I don’t drink and drive, don’t hit my kids, don’t yell at my wife, don't cheat, lie, nor steal.

I know that my family, especially my wife, mother, and father are concerned about how much a drink, and when I’m honest with myself I too am concerned.

I don’t know that I’ll never drink again. That really bums me out to think about, never drinking again. Partly because I don’t know if I could do that and I don’t want to let anyone down. Also because I don’t want to. I like wine and beer and whisky. I feel like there is something wrong with me if I can’t enjoy them without always wanting to down at least 5 drinks, if not 10 or more.

I do know I’ve gone 22 days without a drink, and other than the hangover for the first day or so it hasn’t felt that hard. Not like what I’ve read about from other people. If you’ve seen the movie ‘Half Baked’ I feel like the Dave Chappelle character when he went to a meeting. Very awkward and like I’m making light of people who have it worse than I do.

I know I took some advice from a post (not sure if it was here or some other site) to separate the booze brain and tell ‘it’ that it can’t have a drink. That helped, as I imagine Golem from The Hobbit telling me it ‘wants the precious,’ and I respond by telling him where to get off. That helps me get past the urges to have a drink.