Notices

nightmares & dreaming anyone?

Old 01-26-2014, 07:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

nightmares & dreaming anyone?

I'm pretty new at being sober, but the 3rd night, I had the most horrific nightmare of my life...long story short...i knew i was going to die in an earthquake/tornado, and i prayed "God, please deliver me"...i woke up amazed to be alive...it terrified me...and yes, I have read quite a lot into this nightmare...but wondered if this is common..
Old 01-26-2014, 07:42 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

It's very common Phoenix - incredibly vivid and often terrifying nightmares. Thankfully they tend to fade away pretty quickly,
Old 01-26-2014, 07:43 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

With me yes. I look into dream interpretations online. Some good. Some bad. The worst are the dreams of drinking and using again though. But sleep dramatically improved over time in my case with very pleasant dreams now. Beaches, meadows, and fine food.
Old 01-26-2014, 08:31 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I had terrible nightmares at first two. They went away after a few weeks once my body adjusted.

Now I get them during periods of high stress and they are so vivid I wake up thinking they are real. The difference is now that I'm sober I can quickly realize that they are not real and just dreams. When I was drinking, my world was so crazy that I was never quite sure what exactly was real or not. Very scary.
Old 01-26-2014, 08:59 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
~sb

I'd wake up and my hanging robe would be a person, those were not fun.

I never had a drinking dream, only got to carry the bottle around, but it was always closed. Smoking pot dreams are called freebies, but waking up and feeling high wasn't fun.

I prefer sobriety today!
Old 01-26-2014, 09:14 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

My vivid dreams lasted about 5 days. They were always fantasizing alcohol, or very dark. Usually knife cuts. There were very vivid.