Notices

Hi -- New Here

Old 01-22-2014, 05:11 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi -- New Here

Hello everyone, I'm new here. I wanted to share a little about myself and then have some questions.

I've been coming to this site on and off for a few months, just reading and trying to figure out what I want to do.

About myself: mid 30's single woman. Started drinking in college, maybe a tiny bit before, but within the "normal" time frame. Had bouts of crazy going out nights with friends through college and for years after with groups of friends, all young professionals. Even though it was definitely "excessive" at times, it never felt out of hand....everyone was kinda doing the same thing. I would have a crap hangover one/two days out of the week that I nursed with lots of water and sweating it out at the gym if I could. I was very physically active, ran a lot, happy with my body. So all normal seeming.

The problem for me seemed to begin sometime 3-4 years ago. The amount I was drinking increased to a few nights a week, mostly at home alone with a few glasses of wine, escalating to mostly an entire bottle and quickly escalating from there to two. Flash forward to today, and I drink every day, at least a bottle but most of the time two. Also started adding vodka to the mix last year. The last time I went a day without drinking was the day before Thanksgiving, when I was with my parents and there was nothing in the house. That was a rough day.

Drinking for me now begins when I leave work, whether that's 3pm b/c I left early, or 9pm b/c I left late. Either way, I drink until I go to sleep (ie, pass out on my couch), and wake up in a fog. Weekends, I generally am just drinking all day.