Notices

Facing up to Loneliness

Old 01-19-2014, 12:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Facing up to Loneliness

Hi all,

As many of you will relate to I'm sure, abstaining from alcohol ''robs'' us of a once tried and trusted coping mechanism. I haven't had a drink since 2nd Jan, but this has led to an overwhelming feeling of loneliness manifesting itself in my life. Previously, if even if a hint of loneliness or any other negative feeling threatened to surface, I'd wash it straight down my throat and into the abyss with help from my old friend rum. Then the next day I'd throw it back up, thus, eliminating the loneliness.. Genius, no?

Well it seemed that way for a time, it was almost like a ''prevention is better than the cure'' type game. However, I am determined not to drink again because I know how the story ends, but the loneliness is crippling.
I only really have one friend and he's a drinker.

I work out 5 times a week, have a job, and I'm studying. So I do get out. It's a tricky situation because the students I'm studying with are a lot younger than me (I'm 25, and the majority of students on the course I'm taking are 16/17). I'm not patronising in any way shape or form, but I just find it really hard to connect with a lot of them. I appreciate the age gap isn't monumental, but my mind set of hell-bent study to get the grades I desire isn't shared by the majority. Parties are prioritised.

Similarly, at my job, most of the employees are over 50, so they're also just a little bit out of my social range I guess.

I guess I'm just reaching out here because I don't have anyone to talk to.

If anyone has any advice or stories of their own to share that they think may help me out of my funk, I'd appreciate it massively I'm not really a fan of putting my problems out there so I'm looking at this thread as my own personal journal entry (which may just yield some priceless tips!)

Thank you all.

Last edited by RunnerBean; 01-19-2014 at 12:08 PM. Reason: typo