Notices

I failed after 2 whole days...Don't know where to turn.

Old 01-15-2014, 11:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I failed after 2 whole days...Don't know where to turn.

I am so sad. I failed after two whole days of quitting. This is the 3rd time I have "quit". And the worst part is,as a music composer, I wrote and sold a song over it. Which means I had success from drinking. This is what I have been afraid of: creating sober. I wrote the music sober, but the lyrics came after two drinks tonight. I have stopped after the two drinks, but it doesn't make a difference. I created one of the best songs (in my opinion), than I have in a while.

Why does Satan do this to me? I HAVE to stop, but I find success in it...I am struggling in feeling that, as a writer, I can't write those lyrics when sober; When I know it's possible. It seems to make me honest. I know that many people write sober. Which also makes me feel guilty, because it makes my writing feel phony. I know many of you writers out there can write sober...I want to find that.

Sorry for venting. And I am sorry for betraying the people here who survived tonight without that drink...
Old 01-16-2014, 12:05 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I think you're on the wrong track thinking you had 'success from drinking' - from my 30 year perspective as an alcoholic drug addicted musician and songwriter you had success DESPITE drinking.

If you have the conviction to quit, then add support.

There's many different approaches and methods of recovery around - here's some links to some of the main players:

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...formation.html

I recommend you visit the Secular Connections forum if you think you may benefit from a non 12 step approach.

This is not a one time pass or fail deal. Many of us underestimated the task and fell at the first hurdle - the thing is to regroup, think about what happened and why, and then think of what more you could do next time.