SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   4 Years not drinking, is it too late to get a sponsor? (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/319574-4-years-not-drinking-too-late-get-sponsor.html)

AndrejsM 01-15-2014 05:43 AM

4 Years not drinking, is it too late to get a sponsor?

Hi. I'm not new to not drinking, but I am new to recovery. I have been dry for over 4 years now. I just realized over the past few days that all I did was remove alcohol however the problems were still there this whole time. I think I'm a dry drunk. Even though I've attending many AA meetings, I never got a sponsor. I was too scared and nervous. Do you think it's too late for a sponsor after 4 years? Has anyone else gotten one this late or later? Was it successful? How are you doing now? Thanks for sharing.

prospectkid 01-15-2014 05:57 AM

My sponsor who has over twenty years just got a new sponsor. There is nothing to fear with getting a sponsor. By now you should have at least identified a few people in meetings that seem like they can assist you.

For me, once the compulsion to drink was removed, the program of AA is really about living a happier life. The steps help me in so many ways beyond not drinking. Don't be afraid. Pick someone at the next meeting. Ask them to meet with you and see what the process would be.

A lot of people have this idea that sponsors are jerks that scold and cajole you into doing things you don't want to do. That has not been my experience at all. You have to be open to guidance from more experienced people with better sobriety operating a higher level of emotional maturity. We all need to do this from time to time. Good luck.

phoebe64 01-15-2014 06:02 AM