Notices

depression after sobriety

Old 01-10-2014, 09:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

depression after sobriety

Now that I'm sober I can'tshake this depression. Even though it is not intense it still is very uncomfortable. 3 months sober and 41 years old and I'mthinking maybe mid life crisis has ssomething to do with it. Anyone going thru this your comments would be appreciated. Ty.
Old 01-10-2014, 09:26 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I have clinical depression and I know I've used alcohol to self-medicate. I also take an antidepressant. Have you tried counseling at all? Maybe now that you are sober you are realizing things that you buried with alcohol? Just a thought. I am no expert but I do know depression is miserable and I wouldn't wish it on anyone. I am glad you posted. There are people here who have a lot of sobriety who can hopefully chime in.
Old 01-10-2014, 09:29 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

There is a very good chance you had depression before... The alcohol blurred those issues for you before. Without alcohol you have to see and face these issues with a clear mind.

You might want to look into some counseling...
Old 01-10-2014, 09:35 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thank you for the response and it is very helpful.
Old 01-10-2014, 09:48 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Butler Are you trying to live the same life you had when you were drinking? There is bound to be a void if so. Perhaps, if you can force yourself to find some new interests or go back to things you enjoyed before you drank?
I went back to playing the guitar and art and it's surprising how fast the 'old' me has returned.

Xx
Old 01-10-2014, 09:49 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Hello Butler,