Notices

Day 1

Old 01-06-2014, 11:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Day 1

Ok... Here I go...
Today is day 1. I quit for 6 months last year and thought I could get to a "drink every now and then" state. Once I had a night of drinking I was back to full blown drinking within a week. I have been drinking again for the last 6 months.

I drank (I say drank instead of drink because today is day 1) about 8 to 10 shots per night. Recently I started taking a couple shots in the morning to make myself feel "normal".

I get the shakes and get super tense during the day at work and can hardly wait to get home to take the first shot. If I'm not buzzed, I am sick. I have no appetite until I get a few shots into me. I have anxiety and panic attacks which go away as soon as I drink.

My Wife drinks with me also. She has worse symptoms of withdrawal. Hallucinations. Shaking. Sick. Not eating. I don't think she can go cold turkey because it is dangerous. That also makes it difficult for me to quit.

I am posting this here because it helps me make this commitment real. None of my friends or family knows this about me. It has been mine and my wife's secret for over 10 years and this is the first time I have ever let out my secret.

I have to be honest though. I am scared. I am scared of quitting and I am scared of not quitting.
Old 01-06-2014, 11:57 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Welcome to SR.

Originally Posted by BeachLiving View Post
I have to be honest though. I am scared. I am scared of quitting and I am scared of not quitting.
Don't underestimate your own reaction to quitting. You have symptoms that you relieve by drinking, so you don't know the full reaction to quitting. We always recommend seeing a doctor and being honest about one's drinking and intentions to quit.

Would you wife be open to detox and inpatient care? Your sober journey will be easier if you both are on it.
Old 01-06-2014, 12:06 PM
  # 3 (permalink)