Notices

Atheism and the 12 Steps

Old 12-06-2013, 10:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Post Atheism and the 12 Steps

Hello all,
I'm still very new in my sobriety, but I have been reading an incredible book, "Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction" by David Sheff. One part of the book really struck me yesterday, and I wanted to share it. Personally, I have been struggling with the God and Higher Power part of AA. Part of me feels that I don't even know what to believe, that I'm still too young. Yet another part of me knows that I have been stuffing down any feelings at all, for so many years....Anyways, in the book, David's son is going to rehab for drug and alcohol addiction, and is struggling with similar feelings...

"Without being solicitous or disingenuous, I try to offer a way that he can conceive of a higher power. Though I raised him without religion, his upbringing was not devoid of a set of moral values. I tried to instill the idea that morality is right for its own sake. The Dalai Lama, writing in the New York Times, recently explained this in a way that reflects my thinking: "key ethical principles we all share as human beings, such as compassion, tolerance, a sense of caring, consideration of others, and the responsible use of knowledge and power- principles that transcend the barriers between religious believers and non-believers, and followers of this religion or that religion." To me, those principles are a higher power, one accessible to each of us. My father once explained his concept of God: the "still small voice" inside us- our consciences. When we listen to that voice, we do the right thing. When we don't, we fail to. In my life I haven't paid close enough attention to it--I don't know how--but I try to now. When I listen to it and act on it, I am more compassionate, less self-obsessed, and more loving. That, I tell Nic, is my higher power....