SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   the (not so) perfect (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/314843-not-so-perfect.html)

AdmimalBlueEyes 11-28-2013 10:12 PM

the (not so) perfect

I'm 39 currently spent the last 6years progressivly drinking more untill it became daily. But let me go back a bit first , when I was about 20 I started drinking heavy while in the navy till I was drinking daily at 24 at a certain point I was offered a great job and some how made a decision not to drink I can't really explain how or why I made the decision I just did ? it was pretty simple though my life changed quite a bit. About two years later I started playing chess at a coffe shop eventually AA started meeting up there it seemed as if all they did was talk about not drinking , it seemed they had become addicted to not quitting which to me seemed to be still a state of misary . oddly chess having certain adictive qualities became a "crutch " for many of these people , it is after all , social,stimulating,rewarding and keeps the sub concius as busy as can be ,