Notices

Not sure what to do or how to feel

Old 11-02-2013, 07:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Not sure what to do or how to feel

Hi everyone - I am new to this process and would appreciate any words of wisdom or comfort that you have to offer. My wife of almost 3 years now is an alcoholic. She seems to cycle with a few months sober then a relapse and on and on. It has just been within the last 6 months that I have really come to accept that I am in an alcoholic marriage. I blamed her drinking on me until about 6 months ago when I sought out some Al-Anon info and podcasts online. Now I understand that I didn't cause it and I can't control it. Before I felt like she was stressed out at managing a marriage and a new family. I have 4 children from a previous marriage. Now I know it is just the disease. However, it makes me so angry and sad when she drinks. She is so cold to me when her alcoholic brain is in control. Me, as the good co-dependent; thought I could help fix this. But I know in my heart that this is her battle, not mine. I just don't know what to do when she relapses? She did so tonight so when I googled "what to do when your alcoholic relapses" it brought me here. I am hoping someone can help me figure out how to manage this. I love her with all my heart and I hate seeing this happen but she needs to take responsibility for this. I don't like living this way.
Old 11-02-2013, 07:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)