Notices

Trying to quit heroin for the first time,help!

Old 11-01-2013, 07:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying to quit heroin for the first time,help!

Hey guys!
Sorry if I don't sound my best,I'm starting to feel terrible as I'm trying to get off heroin cold turkey at home.I'm 23 years old and I've been using heroin for two years and a half maybe,I just can't take it anymore,my family is always trying to bring me down,saying how my cousins that are the same age as me are doing so well in life and I'm just here,being lazy,that's what my family calls it,"being lazy"...My mother refuses to recognize I'm an addict,we don't talk about it,she gives me money just so I won't get sick,she doesn't want anyone to find out but it seems like everyone already knows.I'm tired of being an embarrassment,tired of how they make me feel,tired of being neglected,I want to be clean so I can move on with my life,get out of here and surround myself with people who really care.This is why I decided to stop using,it's the first time I've stopped and it's the longest period I've been without using.It's day two today,I've been sweating like crazy,feeling anxious,my whole body is hurting but so far the worst thing has been the anxiety.It's going to get really worse,isn't it?I'm so desperate,so sick,so sad,I came here hoping I could talk to someone even though I'm sitting here in pain,I just need to feel like I'm not alone in this.Sorry if I sound vague,feel free to ask questions if you want,I'm not in the right mind to write something really elaborate at the moment.
Old 11-01-2013, 07:53 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi,

I just came across your post. I must commend you on identifying your problem and trying to take control of it. Detox, especially heroin can be dangerous. Have you considered detoxing in a hospital or looking up local treatment facilities to go to inpatient rehab? There, aided with the strong mindset you have will assist you along your journey.
Old 11-01-2013, 07:55 PM