Notices

Working in restaurant

Old 10-18-2013, 12:15 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Working in restaurant

Hi. Just wondering if anyone else works in a bar/restaurant or any other job that heavily involves alcohol? I need tips on how to deal with my job.

I work as a server in a high end busy steakhouse. My biggest trigger is a busy night at work. I want to drink away all my stress of my back breaking job and pouring wine and serving drinks for my customers all night makes it an even bigger struggle.

I am 8 months sober but nights like tonight can make it just as hard as it was on month number one.
Old 10-18-2013, 12:57 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012

Hi Melissa, congratulations on 8 months, especially with your job not making things any easier.
I think lots of people equate alcohol with the end of the working day; you could call that their trigger. First and most obvious point is can you find a job that doesn't include serving alcohol? If you truly think it's endangering your sobriety then make it a priority.
Can you set yourself up a ritual when you go home? Mine included a bottle of brewed ginger beer, or a cup of tea (see avatar), feet up, telly or internet on, and relax. After a while I stopped relating alcohol with relaxation.
It's in your mind; work hard on your mind to break the association.
You've done so well for 8 months; you can keep it up.
Old 10-18-2013, 01:37 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Honestly working in a bar/restaurant gives me the social interaction I crave minus needing to drink. But it's different for everyone.
Old 10-18-2013, 01:42 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I've been a chef for the last couple decades. It's tough! The trick is to reprogram your mind, away from "man, tonite sucked- I need a drink" to something else. The drink just makes you feel worse the next day, which leads to the day sucking, which leads to needing to drink...the cycle goes on.
Old 10-18-2013, 01:48 AM
  # 5 (permalink)