Notices

drinkin' alone

Old 09-27-2013, 08:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

drinkin' alone

So...I'm new to this format. i stumbled upon an online format but it was apparently based in the the UK. Nobody ever replied. But it still got me thinking about finding encouragement through others seeking sobriety. I did AA in the past, and I've seen a couple of posts mentioning pros & cons and I generally agree with both sides: the religious undertones can make some of us squeamish, but the "Higher Power" talk is just to remind me that I'm powerless. Anyway - That said, I don't have the time nor do I live in a great location for AA meetings. The ones in my town are always in the middle of the day. Otherwise I'd have to drive 20-30 miles after work. Schedule won't permit.

So I need something to help me out. I've been doing this 3 or 4 days of no drinking and then follow it by a binge-ing. On the one hand I'm glad I haven't been drinking as frequently, but when I do I'm an idiot. Trying to figure out best way to keep myself from drinking on the days I'm totally alone. I'm generally pretty good on the days I have my kids.
Old 09-27-2013, 08:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, Kerchief, this is a great place with lots of support. Spend sometime checking out the forums and reading. There is good information on recovery methods besides AA. Keep posting!
Old 09-27-2013, 08:56 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR, Kerchief. You'll find a lot of support here. I know you can make it past day 4 this go round. Stick close by and read and post. Check out the 'September Class' in the newcomer's forum.
Old 09-27-2013, 08:57 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome kerchief

If you live in the US you have access to a lot of different and varied recovery programmes...some are 12 step, some are not.

if there are no meetings nearby where you live, there's a good chance that any given recovery method has an online presence
here's some links to some of the main players: