Notices

Please read my story and help me get through.

Old 09-27-2013, 08:20 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Please read my story and help me get through.

My relationship with alcohol began when I was 18. I would get trashed once or twice a week like a regular college student but otherwise did not struggle with alcohol. Then I went to law school and got into a relationship that depressed me and I began to drink everyday. Since I'm shy I found that drinking offered many rewards. It helped me forget about my relationship issues and it also helped me feel more comfortable in social situations. The drinking escalated. Back then a handle would last two or three weeks. Then I graduated and took a soul-crushing job. Since I hate my job and am generally a miserable person I drink every day when I come home. A handle now lasts about a week for me. I have been a functional alcoholic for the past 3 years but lately I have began to think more about drinking. I have read Drinking: A Love Story and A Life of Drinking, I've watched Flight, and I have filled out a "plan to stop drinking" form that I found online but whenever it comes time to evaluate my progress there is no progress to evaluate because I never started. About six months ago I was able to stay sober for three weeks and I was doing great until my friends invited me to a party and I was back to drinking everyday. At the time I thought that since I could stay off it for three weeks I was not an alcoholic.