Notices

First Step

Old 09-11-2013, 06:38 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Sober since September 7, 2013

First Step

Hi,
I am new to all of this. As I am sure many have been. I am a single mother of a 4yr old and I have a drinking problem. Never have I actually admitted this. I use to say stuff like, well if alcohol is in my house then the problem is I have to drink it. I don't think I was in denial of this disease but I was truly blind to the fact I had it. I answered 12 questions about drinking and it stated if I answered 4 or more with a yes then that suggests a problem. Well I answered yes to all 12. I am excited about that. I have had people tell me that I had a problem with alcohol and of course no one wants someone else to tell them they have a problem. But when I started looking for myself and came across those questions and answered all with a yes, well it opened my eyes for myself. No one was telling me how to answer these, no one was in my ear telling me all the same things these questions were asking. So with my eyes open and my heart able to accept these things and my brain telling me it's ok to swallow that pride, I was finally able to admit to MYSELF, I am an alcoholic and no amount of alcohol is worth any amount of heart ache I cause for anyone else. Including myself.
With that being said I sure hope to chat with some people sometime. Trying to find someone to watch my child while I go to meetings is a huge issue, so hopefully here I will be able to log in and chat at times when I know I need to turn somewhere other than alcohol.
Old 09-11-2013, 06:55 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

HI,
welcome Aiden. You've made the right start admitting your problem. There are plenty of supporters here who will help you overcome it.
Old 09-11-2013, 06:59 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
AmandaUK