Notices

Trying to quit...having problems.

Old 09-09-2013, 11:00 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying to quit...having problems.

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this, sort of. I have been trying to quit for some time now, but I just can't do it. I don't drink all the time. Never Sunday through Thursday. But as soon as I get home on Friday, I can't stop myself. I have the good intentions of just having a couple, but then I drink until 4:00 in the morning and end up doing stupid things that I would never do when I'm sober. I wake Saturday saying I'm not drinking tonight, and end up doing it all over again. I don't understand why I can't stop after a couple, but I can't. Monday through Thursday, I tell myself every day I'm not going to drink this weekend, then Friday comes and..... binge!! God, I am so ready to stop binge drinking, but don't know how to start. It's all I know. I quit for 30 days just to prove to my wife that I could. It was the hardest 30 days of my life. And after that, I was able to control it for the first 3 or 4 weeks and I thought I was strong enough to control it by myself, but I guess I can't . I fell into the same old patterns. I need to stop and want to stop, but I don't even know where to begin. Any help would be appreciated.

The worst part is that I never used to be like this. I keep trying to figure out when I went from social drinker to binge drinker.
Old 09-09-2013, 11:03 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

It's a progressive problem Anon. And it only gets worse, never better. Coming here is a great start, there are many here who have been exactly where you are now. And many of us have gotten better. There is a lot of info and good reading right here in the newcomers forum, and many sub forums dedicated to AA/12 Step and also Secular recovery methods.