Notices

Craft beer snobbery

Old 09-04-2013, 09:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Craft beer snobbery

I love this new commercial for Sam Adams. They basically trick a bunch of craft beer drinkers into thinking Sams is one of their micros. I love it not because I love Sam Adams (I did) but because it shows what most of us suspected while we were drinking and pontificating on our beer and wine; we drink to get drunk!! All beer and liquor is initially repellant... As a poison should be. We just acquire a taste for it so we can keep enjoying the alcohol. I would sit around and discuss the hops and malt like I was an expert with my buddies when really I was just in a race to finish and get another one.

This has been my thinking lately as I am on my 9th day. I don't even feel foolish saying this time, it's different. It's poison! I know it now and I'll never go back. Young, motivated, talented musicians don't get arrested for puking and passing out next to a drug store... That wasn't me, and it never will be. This time I want to encourage anyone who is just starting and really wants to stop: your life is worth it!!! Everything gets better. I feel amazing, like I got to go back a few years and feel like I did. Opportunities open up everyday, sometimes just little ones but I never would have noticed much less responded drunk. One of the best things is just noticing day by day all the things I would have missed out on being drunk all the time. Thanks to everyone here for the stories and advise. It helps! I anticipate posting my progress.

Btw... I gotta recommend Carr's book "the easy way to quit drinking". Eye opening, heard about it here!
Old 09-04-2013, 09:39 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Ha! I hear ya! I am (was) such a wine snob. Except when I wasn't. Then, I'd drink anything resembling wine
Old 09-04-2013, 10:04 PM
  # 3 (permalink)