Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

New member wanting help and advice on effective treatment solution

Notices

Old 08-30-2013, 08:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I am new to this forum and am looking for help and support with my drinking behaviour and am looking for a way to curb it.

I am a 54-year old research scientist with a university education. I am single. My parents died when I was in my early twenties. I have no siblings or cousins. I live alone.

I have attended AA meetings where I have heard people describe their first drinking experience of being ‘lit up like a Christmas tree.’ I too have one of those brains that responds to alcohol in this way. It is the way I am wired. I have come to recognise that all of my life I have pursued thrill seeking behaviour. I have a history of binge eating and exercise addiction too.

I do not drink a tremendous amount, 4 to eight units per day. I do not get up and want a drink or want one when I am work, going to the gym, out shopping or at a social event, drink is the farthest thing from my mind. It is when I get in in the evening that I want to drink. I do not drink to give me confidence, to drown my sorrows, to fill any loneliness, because I am depressed, or to cope with life. I drink because I find evenings so boring. I like being on the go all of the time. I cannot just ‘relax’, ‘chill out’, ‘pamper’ myself, ‘read a book’. I cannot concentrate on these activities. I suspect when I was young I probably had ADHD as well. I stopped drinking for 14 years when I was 30 because I was ‘frightened’ that alcohol would damage my heart and kill me. My mother died from heart disease. However, after having a drink ‘forced’ on me by a friend at a party 8 years ago, I realised it wasn’t going to give me a heart attack. I have been hooked on alcohol ever since, which is now for eight years.