Notices

Day 1 again

Old 08-24-2013, 03:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 1 again

I so want to leave alcohol behind for good. In the past I have been sober for a period of weeks months and even years. 2 nights ago I can home in the back of squad car 'for my own safety'. I am a 46yr old professional for chrissakes.

I want to stop for good now. AA is not for me. Any suggestions welcome!

Close
Old 08-24-2013, 04:00 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Better when never is never

Hi and welcome! I am 46, too. Welcome to the site. There is plenty of great support here. The good news is that you never have to drink again starting right now.

The secular recovery section on this site has lots of good information on alternative approaches. I personally think that SMART recovery has very useful tools for achieving sobriety.
Old 08-24-2013, 04:16 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome. Whatever choice of recovery you choose self honesty is a top requirement. Next will be not picking up the first drink so you don’t have to get sober AGAIN. These 2 things I learned many years ago at AA along with a few million others. What ever program is used we have to WORK it and not just mouth the words. There is a lot of good help here available if you just ask. Good luck as the path can be bumpy but many have the rewards for following it.
Old 08-24-2013, 07:29 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by jazzfish View Post
Hi and welcome! I am 46, too. Welcome to the site. There is plenty of great support here. The good news is that you never have to drink again starting right now.

The secular recovery section on this site has lots of good information on alternative approaches. I personally think that SMART recovery has very useful tools for achieving sobriety.