Notices

the first step

Old 08-13-2013, 09:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

the first step

hello...

I stumbled upon this site after a Google search for trying to get off opiates. Today is my first day of going without and I am in a sheer he11...I have made up my mind though to come off of this evilness once and for all as it has already cost me 1 marriage, my 2 daughters and a boyfriend who meant the world to me. 3 years later, I am starting to see the path of self destruction I went down...and as hard as it is for me to admit that I am a 'narcotic addict', I also know that is the major step in recovery too.

I am a nurse and I am constantly berating myself for getting to this point. But again, I had easy access to the stuff too...

Any help, advice, etc would be appreciated.

Thanks,
S
Old 08-13-2013, 10:30 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Ctryrds!

I don't know. Acknowledging that what I had been doing wasn't working so well was a good first step for me. I figured I would worry about why I did it and what it meant later. I just needed it to stop.

I knew I would need some help and support so that's what I did. Made a decision I was done, asked for whatever help I could get, kept my mind open to doing whatever it would take, and then did it.

I knew it wouldn't be easy but continuing living how I was living wasn't easy either. I just picked my hard.

You are a nurse so you probably don't need me to tell you to be safe but I'm saying it anyway. Please be safe and get another medical professional to help you if you need it.

Welcome to SR. You will find lots of support here. We've all been there.
Old 08-13-2013, 10:39 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks 360.