Notices

Helpless yet Hopeful

Old 08-10-2013, 06:56 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Helpless yet Hopeful

Hi everyone

It's my first time addressing that my relationship with alcohol has gotten out of hand. Truth is I don't know why I keep harming my body, mind and soul with what today feels like poison.

I went out last night as I always do on a Friday night and drank until I couldn't string a sentence together. I also smoked; something I haven't done for 10 months. I was out with my husband and his work colleagues, can't believe I embarrassed myself in front of them all.

My husband and I both drink a dangerously high amount of alcohol every weekend and the drinking is now creeping into weekday nights.

I am so sick of feeling rotten, my hangovers last for days now and I will often use hair of the dog tactics to rid my body of those awful feelings.

I wish I knew why I drink like this. I have tried cutting down and also drinking alcohol with lower abv, but nothing works. My husband and I are a bad influence on each other I know that and it's time for one of us to be strong and I want it to me.

If anyone has any tips on how I can stop and how we can help each other through sobriety I would be so grateful. We have no idea how to have fun without alcohol, how sad.

I can't go through life feeling like this anymore. I am not sure if I am an alcoholic or not. I keep making excuses for my drinking and even while typing this I can hear myself explaining in my head why I couldn't stop drinking completely, I have two parties to go to this week, and next month we will be seeing old friends in Chicago who we always used to drink heavily with. I need some strength but not sure how to create it........

With heart
Alex
Old 08-10-2013, 07:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hello Alex... this is a quick post to let u know you have been seen. I'll be back w/ longer post in a few. I'm slow on phone.
Old 08-10-2013, 07:20 PM
  # 3 (permalink)