Notices

A week ago today...

Old 08-09-2013, 03:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A week ago today...

I was completely hammered to the point where I couldn't walk, I embarrassed myself and my husband. My hangover rendered me useless for the next couple of days and pretty much ruined my family camping trip.

Today I am 1 week sober. I feel like crap. I have a horrid headache and fatigue. But I'm sober. And I am grateful.

I met with my doctor today. I was completely honest about my drinking, something I've never done before. It went really well. I'm going in Tuesday for lab work but he does not think I've done any serious damage to my body. My liver enzyme tests were normal in 2012 (while I was drinking) but he's going to run them again along with some other tests just to be sure.

I know it's going to get harder and harder to not want to drink. I don't have any cravings right now but I'm anticipating them. My husband is going to be working a lot over the next few weeks and being alone is a trigger for me. Any advice on how to get through the cravings? Cope with the loneliness?
Old 08-09-2013, 03:15 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
SR Fan

Congratulations on your week sober!

There are lots of ways to deal with cravings. Urge surfing is one:
The Alcoholism and Addictions Help Forums- by SoberRecovery.com (urge surfing)

I also found that mindfulness and AVRT were especially helpful. It truly does get better after a while, so hang in there!
Old 08-09-2013, 03:17 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

congrats on the week CB.

I think support is so so important - you'll have SR of course - are you considering other support like AA or some other recovery group?

D
Old 08-09-2013, 11:02 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Congrats on your week. I second urge surfing-it really works
Old 08-10-2013, 12:11 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
instant

Well done CB. I craved chocolate for ages. I think eating some prior to my usual drinking time helped keep them at bay.
Old 08-10-2013, 01:51 AM
  # 6 (permalink)