Notices

Still haunted

Old 08-03-2013, 07:29 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Still haunted

I have been having drinking dreams lately. I had a few this past week. I went months without any and it's now every other night. I don't wake up stressed out about them like I used to. I think it's strange how they are coming so frequently and my reaction to them is indifference. I really don't want to drink. There are times I wish I could escape like so many other people I know but I don't. I am totally convinced that I cn't control it. Last Wednesday the instructor of a class I am taking asked me to go for drinks. I was pleasant but declined. I told her I don't go to bars. She said Ok lets go to Starbucks. We did and we sat outside talking until midnight. Being sober is not a problem for me socially. I am just worried about these damn dreams I guess. Whats more alarming is my lack of alarm when I have one.
Old 08-03-2013, 07:49 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm really new at this escapist but maybe your indifference isn't really a problem. At first for me fear was a real motivator to quit. I quit drinking a lot of times unsuccessfully when I was afraid that I might be an alcoholic. Now that I've said, "I AM and alcoholic" I don't feel afraid of drinking anymore because I know I can't. There is no uncertainty about who I am and my capabilities and I'm ok. I was much more "alarmed" when I was trying to convince myself I didn't have a problem than I am now that I KNOW I have a problem.

I'm glad you had a nice time enjoying a coffee with your instructor. In the short time I haven't been drinking I've found that I've received so much more in terms of personal interaction with others than I did when I was drinking.

I hope you can find some peace from these dreams.
Old 08-03-2013, 08:59 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Dismember

So you know, recovering alcoholics have dreams about drinking ALL THE TIME. I mean to put caps lock on for that emphasis. It's extremely common.