Notices

I am a newbie

Old 07-29-2013, 07:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
NATBITES

I am a newbie

Hi everyone.
I have been drinking since 15 yrs old on and off. I only woke up and realised I am an alcoholic in the last 2 years or so. I have been sober for 2 weeks I am on meds to help (antidepressents Escitalopram/Generics, trevor, filicine and Neurobion) as I also have a history of depression. I am not going to AA (have been twice in the past but was not ready to committ). At the moment I am doing therapy with an alcoholics organisation ran by the government (I am English but live in Greece). Three times a week I go to do a breathalizer test and I have been seeing a pscycotherpist. (I have some issues in my past which started the drinking .....and then I found I just couldn't stop a one drink. There is no alcoholism in my immediate family, although my half sister (from my Dad's first marriage) has drinking problems though I am not sure how serious.
I was up until recently drinking 1 litre of red wine and up to 5 beers a night. And this became so regular that I had to go to different shops to buy my alcohol so that they didn't think I was a alcoholic. I hid bottle and cans everywhere you can image. Ok I was what I call a "funtioning" alcoholic in that I drank mostly in the evenings on my own but away from my family. My husband and 14 year old son.