Notices

I'm so happy I found this site.

Old 07-26-2013, 07:47 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm so happy I found this site.

My name is Andrew and I am 30. I have been partying for about the last 8 years. This includes heavy drinking, smoking marijuana mainly but other drugs sometimes too. I have been trying really hard for the last 2 years to get my partying under control but have only been clean for maybe 2 months in 8 years, which blows my mind. I have a girlfriend who drinks and smokes, but she does it with moderation and I applaud her for that. I've never been the type to just isolate myself from everything while I try to quit because I feel you have to stare your troubles right in the face to conquer them. I took some time and really thought about all the partying and wasted time drinking myself into a blackout state, rambling away for hours on the phone talking to my friends, and never remembering what we talked about. I have big dreams in my life and I feel really strong mentally. I am so glad I found this site for the main reason to help and be helped. Its good to know that there are some good people out there. I'm on day three and excited to walk away from addictions and have a clear mind and spirit. Good luck to all, you can do it.
Old 07-26-2013, 07:51 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Faith and reason

Congrats on day 3 and welcome to SR, Andrew. This site is definitely a great place to both get and give support.
Old 07-26-2013, 07:54 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Welcome to SR.

Originally Posted by grocerease View Post
I've never been the type to just isolate myself from everything while I try to quit because I feel you have to stare your troubles right in the face to conquer them.
Not sure what you mean by "everything" when you say you aren't the type to isolate, but if it means you are still hanging in the places you partied at, with the people you partied with, you might reconsider.