Notices

I am tired of drinking - HELP

Old 07-19-2013, 02:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I am tired of drinking - HELP

I am quickly drinking myself to death. I start at about 5AM, keep popping to bed during the day to sleep if off then get up and drink again.

I at the point where I understand it will kill me. I am also at the point that I understand I hate drinking - I HATE IT. I actually want my life back. A life that is not controlled by drinking.

I am a professional IT/Marketing person (unemployed now - there's a shock!) and I don't understand how I got here.

I have a question to those who have had the courage to deal with this. How long do the shakes and withdrawal symptoms last when you stop and how GOOD do you feel when they are gone? I just need a push and thank anyone who can HELP me PLEASE xx

I am crying as I type this as I am at the end of my tether.
Old 07-19-2013, 03:21 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Everyone is different in regards to withdrawl symptoms, so I cannot give you any specific timeframes. But I can tell you this: Stick with this, and stay close to SR and in a few days you are going to feel a LOT better.

There is lots of wisdom and experience here. I'm pullin for you man!
Old 07-19-2013, 03:26 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

daloulie

Thanks mate - really appreciate it. I am glad I found this forum and people like yourselves.

Regards

Kev
Old 07-19-2013, 03:27 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Hears The Voice

Welcome to SR Kev. You are in good company here.

Different people react differently to withdrawing from alcohol. In some people, the withdrawal effects can be severe and sometimes dangerous. You should get medical advice and/or assistance to detox. That detox process can take a few days or a week, I think, but everyone is different.