Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

Service in Al-Anon meeting: How to handle gossip and meeting disruptions

Notices

Service in Al-Anon meeting: How to handle gossip and meeting disruptions

Old 07-16-2013, 10:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Cool Service in Al-Anon meeting: How to handle gossip and meeting disruptions

Im in need of ideas on how to better be of service to the meeting I am chairing. Could anyone recommend a forum for me to read and participate in? The meeting is for Al-Anon. I am new to the program; I've been active participant for 2 years and have taken on the responsibity of leader or chair of our meetings for about a year. The meeting is small and a bit close knit. Thanks for any ideas. Meeting gossip and disruption how better to serve.
Old 07-16-2013, 03:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Duncan

I know nothing of AlAnon myself.

You will get replies from AlAnon members here tho - the family and friends forums may be useful to you too

D
Old 07-16-2013, 03:46 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

to SR!
Old 07-23-2013, 09:14 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I know I can't please everyone. I just want that gentle meeting I had to return. I've never been to other meetings in the United States. I have nothing to compare for such situations as I have. I'll keep going. I see a lot of good tid bits in the forum. Any stories anyone might have about diruption in any meeting would help me have some perspective on how other leaders handle it. Gently and with compasion. As oppose to " hey, you two take your crap outside" .... not the preferred way... but hey, I'm human too.
Old 07-23-2013, 09:55 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

How my al-anon works