Notices

newbie here...

Old 07-06-2013, 12:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

newbie here...

Hey all I am 34 years old and have a pretty bad drinking problem, been battling it for quite a while now and I am at the end of my rope... I live in a small community and there isn't much help offered... I been trying to stop but the withdrawl is too much... the sweats & chills when I am trying to sleep are awful.. the anxiety is bad, I already suffer from anxiety to begin with... my heart races, I feel like I am gonna die... I really need to know what I can do to at least get past the withdrawl stage... is there anything I can do or can I wean myself off somehow... caved in today and bought alcohol... got home and just cried my eyes out... please someone help me, I am sooo depressed and alone
Old 07-06-2013, 12:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
We Do Recover

Welcome to SR! Glad you are here. You will find lots of support here.

Have you considered medical detox? (not sure how bad your symptoms are)

Have you dealt with this before? ...quitting drinking etc
Old 07-06-2013, 12:45 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi honey. Sounds like you and I are in the same boat. I'm 34 and a severe alcoholic. I haven't drank yet today but am considering it because of my withdrawel syptoms. Chills, sweating, anxiety, sadness, and it feels like my skin is crawling. At one point I had two years of sobriety but now days I can only string together a few days sober before I cave in. I hate it. I have some good friends in AA that keep me coming back. I keep hoping I will have a light bulb moment but I can't even grasp step two in the 12 steps. Do you have support or a sponsor? What about meetings?
Old 07-06-2013, 12:49 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Drink tons of water. Some people say sweets help a little bit. I know exactly how you feel right now.
Old 07-06-2013, 12:57 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Community Greeter