Notices

Giving these boards a shot

Old 06-29-2013, 04:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Giving these boards a shot

My love hate relationship with alcohol is a 15 yr story I am going to try to condense. I started drinking to cover the pain and depression from being raped by a classmate at 16.

My drinking went from zero, to drinking until sloppy drunk or blacking out every time. Drinking lead to other drugs and by 22 I gave up both cold turkey and made work and school a crutch. Sounds great right? I graduated college with honors and my career accelerated. I have a good husband, 2 year old, good job, white picket fence and 3 degrees.

Then a few months ago after not touching a drop for 8 years I started socially drinking, that turned into hiding bottles in my house and telling my husband I was working late (when really I would down a couple at the local bar on my way home).

Feeling like I have a lot more to lose now than I did in my 20's I decided to see a therapist. I quit drinking for the first few weeks of therapy and now she does not ask me about it. She just focuses on the rape. My therapist has been trying to get me to work through the rape which is so damn painful I am drinking again. I feel like it's a big circle of pain.

I pretend to have it together for everyone that I hid my drinking from my husband and my therapist. I plan to come clean with my therapist at my next appointment but she has suggested in patient therapy before which I quickly disregarded. I am wondering if this may be best for me at this time but that would mean telling my very conservative husband about my drinking.

Day 1 all over again and I just feel like there is so much to lose.
Old 06-29-2013, 04:20 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Lexica

I know you'll find support and understanding here - and a few ideas too

D
Old 06-29-2013, 04:22 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Community Greeter