Notices

Nothing new...

Old 06-06-2013, 01:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Nothing new...

Hi,
I spent a couple of evening reading many posts and I felt I am not as alone as I thought.
I came from a different country and I grew up in a very happy and "normal" family.

When I got here I found everything so beautiful, the people, the climate, my job.
I have a great job that I enjoy very much and a small but good group of friends.
2 years ago I met HIM, love at first sight, passion, fun, love and more love.
I found the man of my life and he told me he found the love of his life.
After some time of fun I started noticing that what should have been a "once a week" drinking habit was in reality a "once a day" thing.
2 or 3 or 4 (sometimes 8 or 10)beers after work and half/one bottle of wine at dinner, actually while cooking.
I work in the wine industry and I grew up in a region of the world where wine is a common thing to drink, but in moderation and not every day.
I have never been in contact with an alcoholic before.
So, when al the typical craziness started I could not understand what was happening to me.
He started drinking heavily after 3/4 months into the relationship, or perhaps he started earlier and I could not recognize it, and the back out process begun.
With cycles of 3 weeks we had amazing time together and terrible fights.
He blamed me to be the cause of the fight. When my father was in his death bed I tried to call him to have his support...he was drinking with his buddy and when finally, after 2 hours, he called me back was just to blame me for my selfishness. I went to pick him up completely drunk in bars, I have been "invited to leave" I have been abandoned for days, most of the plans that we made have been cancelled by him at the last minute....and always because of my "controlling and angry behavior".