Notices

First time posting here...

Old 05-30-2013, 03:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Post First time posting here...

Hello,
I have browsed this site several times before. I guess it really took the entire last year for me to move from thinking maybe I actually was an alcoholic to realizing I am and probably have been for years. Now I'm not entirely sure what to do about it, but I figure this is a start!
I am in my mid 20's, and constantly surrounded by alcohol. I'm a musician and a student, and everyone around me drinks, often excessively...I think I know a lot of people who probably have alcohol problems, but I guess it's pretty normalized in the crowds I'm around (musicians and university students).
I guess I deluded myself into thinking I had more control than I actually have. The truth is, sometimes I can go out and have a beer and that's that. Now I see that more often than not, that is NOT the case. I don't even know what happens- I become a different person...I become fixated on drinking more, no matter what, if it means staying up until 5 AM blacked out drunk with people I barely know...and to top it off, I am a BAD drunk. I have lost friends. I can be mean. I get angry, emotional, unreasonable, promiscuous.
Although it's not an every night occurrence for me, I can't deal with how I feel after those nights. The feelings of shame and self loathing are so overwhelming and have led to a lot of depression. I suffer from anxiety disorder, so drinking became a crutch for me at a pretty young age. My last black out binge night was 5 days ago now, and as I was lying in my hallway so weak I could barely stand up after throwing up for hours, I felt terrified.