Notices

Nervous

Old 05-24-2013, 07:38 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Nervous

Hi, I'm a recovering alcoholic. I'm nervous to leave my house because of triggers. Lately my mate has shown a lot of rage (punching walls) because I am scared to leave my house. I've had long periods of sobriety but lately, I'm new to the path--2 days at most, but often. The withdrawal makes my "tone" and my willingness to go out is antithetical to what everyone in my life wants. I hope this group can understand me more than those around me.

Hello,
Mirel
Old 05-24-2013, 07:50 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Mirel.

I'm glad you found us. We are all here helping ourselves and each other.

It concerns meet greatly that your mate is punching walls in a fit of rage. Does your mate have a drinking/using problem too?
Old 05-24-2013, 08:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Mirel,

Welcome!

Good for you for deciding to stop drinking. Please know that you do not need to live in an abusive situation. I hope you can make a plan to take care of your physical safety. There are Women's Shelters in most cities where you can find refuge and safety.

And, please don't let what others want you to do, rule your life. You have the right to choose to stay in or go out and in early recovery it's important to remember to choose things that feel right to you.
Old 05-24-2013, 08:37 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome to SR mirel - there's a lot of support and wisdom here

D
Old 05-25-2013, 12:56 PM
  # 5 (permalink)