Notices

What is next?

Old 05-19-2013, 11:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Arrow What is next?

Hey Everyone, I am new to this so please give me a chance on this forum. Thank you for being here. Right now I am in a place of gratitude that right now this moment I am sober. Right now this moment I don't feel like using and am I glad earlier tonight when the opportunity arose and I had a craving. Not sure exactly how this all works however I know I want to be sober. I need to be sober. I want to be happy. I want to be sucessfull. I want to be honest and move forward. Never before did I listen to just one day at a time. However I followed the reccommondations of several sober people I know and attented NA twice last week. The messages were strong and resignated well. How do you handle cravings? They will pass right? How long usually? What about persistent ones? What about the impulses? Instant gratification? Right now, I even am thinking about internet shopping, for what? I don't know but I will get instant gratification and then another when I get my package of whatever I dont' need and shouldnt spend money on. I see that I am so much happier, a better mom, a better partner, a more attentive person, a nicer, calmer person sober. I can look in the mirror and see me. It was like I was blind before and couldn't see myself. I thought being high and having this spotless house and running in circles was making things work. I see now that nothing was working. I was just spinning keeping it all together. Any thoughts, reccomendations, ideas, works of encouragement will be greatly appreicated. Please dont beat me up, I do enough of that myself. If anyone reads or has read "Daring Greatly" by Brene Brown, its awesome and all about VULNERABILITY. I am ready to be vulnerable to the real world. To face and it and to deal. Please help me if you can.
Old 05-20-2013, 12:34 AM
  # 2 (permalink)